The Chief Executive Officer of Nigeria’s first indigenous automobile manufacturing company, Innoson Vehicle, Chief Dr. Innocent Chukwuma, OFR, has added another feather to his cap by wining the Leadership Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Year Award.

The Nnewi based Auto-Manufacturer received the award on Thursday, 7th February, 2019, during the ongoing 2019 LEADERSHIP Annual Conference at the International Conference Centre, (ICC), Abuja.

Chief Dr. Innocent Chukwuma was nominated for the award on the basis of his outstanding achievements as the Chief Executive Officer of Innoson Vehicle Manufacturing Company.

Receiving the award on behalf of Innocent Chukwuma, was Chinazom Chukwuma, a Director in Innoson Group; and Cornel Osigwe, the Head Corporate Communications of Innoson Group.

Miss Chinazom Chukwuma appreciated the board and management of LEADERSHIP Newspapers Group Limited for finding his boss worthy of such meritorious award.

She said, “under the leadership of my boss, our company has shown that local companies can produce vehicles that can meet global standard which will help in boosting the Nigerian economy and Image. In the last one year, our company has expanded it’s vehicle plant from manual production to automated production. This will help reduce the time spent on any line of production.

“We plan to phase out Tokumbo vehicles out of Nigeria, because our company will start producing very sound vehicles for as low as N2 million very soon. This was achieved through the ingenuity and creativity of workers in our company led by Chief Dr. Innocent Chukwuma, Ifediaso Nnewi.”

She, however, urged the Federal Government to assist local manufacturers by formulating policies that would make manufacturing companies in Nigeria to be more productive, especially as it concerns the implementation of Executive Order No. 3 and No. 5, which will reduce importation of finished products into the country.

It is important to recall that earlier last month, Innoson Vehicle Manufacturing Company won the 2018 African Independent Television (AIT) Indigenous Manufacturer of the Year.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here